per minute

fewer ROCKETS.png

Big Sugar returns to form on this roots rock reggae masterpiece after a decade long hiatus. Includes top 10 radio hit "Roads Ahead" and with 2 bonus dub mix selections.

Features performances by Ian McLagan, Warren Haynes,Jay Malinowski, Tim Chaisson and Shane Murphy.

Gordie Johnson – guitar/vocals
Garry Lowe – bass
Kelly “Mr Chill” Hoppe – harmonica/sax/melodica
Friendlyness – keyboards/toasting
Stephane “Bodean” Beaudin- drums
Also featuring:
* Tony “Raffa” White – drums

Warren Haynes appears courtesy of Hard Head Productions
Shane Murphy appears courtesy of Big Fat Truck Productions
Jay Malinowski appears courtesy of Bedouin Soundclash

Recorded and Mixed by Gordie Johnson and Jacob Sciba.

Thank you to Barry Lubotta @ Phase One Audio Group and to Mike Smith for technical assistance.

Recorded September/ October 2010 @ Phase One Studio, Toronto, Ontario Canada by Gordie Johnson and Jacob Sciba, assisted by Jeff Pelletier.
Additional assistance by Dajanu Martineau, Mike Ho and Matt Snell

Mixed February, 2011 @ Pedernales Studio, Spicewood Texas, USA by Gordie Johnson and Jacob Sciba.

Mastered by Howie Weinberg at Howie Weinberg Mastering, Los Angeles, California

Big Sugar uses Traynor amplifiers and Sennheiser microphones. Gordie Johnson uses Gibson guitars and D’addario strings. Mr. Chill uses Hohner harmonicas and melodicas.

Gordie Johnson wears Jonelle VanEvery custom guitar straps. www.thebeadedguitarstrap.com

Special thanks to the Big Sugar crew: Luke Westlake, Keith Rudyk, Johnny Carver, Rich Hagan, Big Ben Richardson for making it happen!
Album Artwork and Layout: Gordie Johnson & Lynn Daigle, Malkin Music,

Cover Photo: Kandiss Bradley for KStar Photography
Band Photo: Melanie Swerdan

Released June 28, 2011.